year twenty-six. day one.

This last week I turned twenty-six years old. I’m now over a quarter of a century old. Last year I was able to say, “Now I’m old enough to rent a car!” This year I said, “I’m one year closer to getting those killer savings with that AARP discount!” I’m just kidding, I didn’t really say that, but hey- it’s not untrue. 😉

For some, getting older can be a sour topic because it can remind them of the things that they’ve missed out on or compare where we are in life to others and those thoughts can trump a time of celebration. I’ll be honest, that has been me until this year. This year, I can say I’m no longer that person!

13646926_10154390671463060_841746347_o

This year:

  1. My style has been described as “boho hobo” and found that it’s strangely accurate.
  2. I became a morning person.
  3. I learned the value of sleep and it’s okay to be known as “the granny.”
  4. I learned to not buy something, just because it’s on sale. Put that money towards my next adventure.
  5. I learned to say “no.”
  6. I found a love Thai and Asian food.
  7. I’ve taken on yoga.
  8. I have morning and night routines, like a granny. And I get strangely excited explaining them to people.
  9. I learned that acupuncture is my saving grace.
  10. I’ve learned that tears aren’t always a bad thing.
  11. I learned that crockpots are BOSS.
  12. Exercising is finally my happy place.
  13. I really upped my emoji game.
  14. I’ve put my dog on about four different vitamins/supplements to ensure that he lives forever.
  15. I learned that painting is the perfect activity for a rainy day accompanied by some hot tea.
  16. I break it down at weddings. Just call me “Ms. Wedding.”
  17. I like to invest in leather journals from time to time because it makes my heart happy.
  18. I learned it’s okay to be a homebody and just read books.
  19. I’ve grown in my walk with Christ and He has helped me overcome many internal battles.
  20. I stopped my silent, constant comparison battle.
  21. I’ve learned to be more conscious of my changing my mindset from my go-to anxious heart to a mindset of assurance that Christ is in control.
  22. I’ve focused on my health and fitness. Not for the “perfect beach bod” but to fight for my health and grow more confidently in myself.
  23. I learned that the power of prayer is a force not to be reckoned with.
  24. I became more comfortable in my skin.
  25. I learned to follow my heart, even when others question my choices, I am still confident.
  26. I realized I’m a pretty rad human being.

See how I listed twenty-six things and I just turned twenty-six? Super clever and original, I know.

To celebrate my twenty-sixth year of breathing, I started off with some kayaking with my padre for a few hours!

13639644_10154390671408060_2057048570_o

We then ended the day with tacos. Shocking, I know.

13639822_10154390671438060_1349587840_o

Stay tuned. This was only the beginning of my birthday festivities! Here’s a little preview of posts to come!

 

Shameless plug:

To ensure you don’t miss any posts: SUBSCRIBE: There’s a link on the top right hand corner 😉

xoxo emmy

Leave a Reply

